2023 Undergraduate Student Awards

2023 Undergraduate Acacdemic Awards

Jin Ming Koh, a senior in Physics and Computer Science will receive the 2023 George W. Housner Prize for Academic Excellence and Original Research at commencement. This award is given to seniors in the upper 20% of their class for an outstanding piece of original scientific research.

Elsa Palumbo, a senior Astrophysics and Physics, and Pavlos Stavrinides, a senior in Applied and Computational Mathematics will share the 2023 George W. and Bernice E. Green Prize. The Green Prize is awarded to an undergraduate in any class for original research, an original paper or essay, or other evidence of creative scholarship beyond the normal requirements of specific courses

The Jack E. Froehlich Memorial Award is for outstanding juniors in the top 5% of the class who shows outstanding promise for a creative professional career. Virginia Canestraight, a junior in Chemical Engineering, is this year’s recipient.

Theresa Zhang, a junior in Applied and Computational Mathematics, and Stephanie Chen, a junior in Mathematics, were chosen as the joint winners of the 2023 Fredrick J. Zeigler Memorial Award. This award recognizes students studying pure or applied mathematics in their sophomore or junior year, who have shown excellence in scholarship as demonstrated in class activities or in preparation of an original paper or essay in any subject area.

Caltech Students Recognized for Excellence in Leadership

Student Affairs hosted a celebration to honor and recognize the winners of the 2023 Leadership Prizes and Awards.

Frederic W. Hinrichs, Jr. Memorial Award

Jolly Patro and Abigail Jiang will receive the 2023 Hinrichs Memorial Award at commencement. This award is given in memory of Frederic W. Hinrichs, Jr., who served for more than 20 years as Dean and professor at the Institute. The award bearing his name is made annually to the senior who throughout his or her undergraduate years have made the greatest contributions to the student body and whose qualities of character, leadership, and responsibility have been outstanding.

Mabel Beckman Prize

Aditi Seetharaman was selected the 2023 Mabel Beckman Prize winner. This award, presented at commencement, is given in memory of Mrs. Beckman’s many years of commitment to Caltech’s educational and research programs. This award is for academic excellence and outstanding leadership skills, a commitment to personal excellence, good character, and a strong interest in the Caltech community.

Noland Leadership Award

Audrey DeVault, David Melisso, Kavya Rajagopalan and Gabi Twombly were all awarded the Robert L. Noland Leadership Award. The Robert L. Noland Leadership Award is for outstanding Caltech students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership abilities and have encouraged and supported others in realizing their own leadership capabilities.

Bibi Jentoft-Nilsen Memorial Award

Albert Kyi is this year’s winner of the Bibi Jentoft-Nilsen Memorial Award. This prize is given in memory of Bibi Jentoft-Nilsen, Caltech ‘89, an exceptional student leader. After her untimely death in 1990, a fund was established to recognize outstanding student leaders.

Doris Everhart Service Award

Bertha Mireles was selected as the recipient of the Doris Everhart Service Award. This award is given annually to an undergraduate who has actively supported and willingly worked for organizations that enrich student life, and the campus or community as a whole, and who has exhibited care and concern for the welfare of students on a personal basis.

Deans’ Cup

Deans’ Cup Awards are presented to undergraduates whose concern for their fellow students has been demonstrated by persistent efforts to improve the quality of undergraduate life and by effective communication with members of the faculty and administration. Alexis Wang and Geoffrey Pomraning received the 2023 Deans’ Cup.

Mari Peterson Ligocki ‘81 Memorial Award

Rachel Ding was selected as the recipient of the 2023 Mari Peterson Ligocki ’81 Memorial Award. The Mari Peterson Ligocki ‘81 Memorial Award is made to one student who through his or her personal character has improved the quality of student life at Caltech. It recognizes the student who provides quiet support and kind encouragement to peers. This fund was established by Mr. José F. Helú Jr. ‘79 to honor the memory of Mari Peterson Ligocki, ’81, who possessed these qualities.

Residential Experience Emerging Leader Award

Ramona Murugu and Thierno Diallo are the recipients of the 2023 Residential Experience emerging leader award. This award is for students who are newer in their career but already it is clear they will be important contributors to the Caltech campus.

Residential Experience Award for Outstanding Leadership

The 2023 Residential Experience for outstanding leadership award honor students who have made a difference in the lives of their peers. This year ORE honored Matthew Hajjar, Cameron Scantlin and Arya Mevada.

The Lucy Guernsey Service Award

Danika Nimlos, Peiwei Chen (graduate students) and Suchitra Dara were the recipients of this year’s Lucy Guernsey Service Award. The Lucy Guernsey Service Award was established by the Caltech Y ExComm in honor of Lucy Guernsey, the Y’s Executive Director from 1989-1991. The award is given annually to one or two students who have provided exceptional service to the Y and/or the community and exemplify a spirit of service.

Donald S. Clark Memorial Award

Two juniors, Heidi Redmond and Parul Singh, were awarded the 2023 Donald S. Clark Memorial Prize in recognition of service to the campus community and academic excellence. Preference is given to students in the Division of Engineering and Applied Science and to those in Chemical Engineering.

Ginsburg Scholar

In May 2023, Caltech initiated the new Ginsburg Scholar designation for two students in honor of Dr. Allen Ginsburg and his wife, Charlotte. Ginsburg scholars are rising seniors with academic excellence, outstanding leadership skills and a commitment to our visual and performing arts program. The inaugural Ginsburg Scholars are Riley Tam and Tanmay Gupta.